header call 09 438 0904
info@mangawhaifocus.co.nz 021678358
sales@mangawhaifocus.co.nz 021454814
PO Box 522, Whangarei


Final series event for 2015 completed in pumping conditions.


MG 05261-521Northland Secondary School surfers converged on the fabled points of Ahipara to contest the final event of the 2015 Scholastics Series. Competitors were greeted with pumping 1 – 2 metre lines peeling down the points that continued to break through out the day. Due to the size of the draw and the tide factor the organizer’s split the event into two podiums with U14 Boy’s and Girls, U16 Girls & the U18 Girls contesting the Pines line up while the U16 & U18 boys moved to the outside break of Bluehouse.

The girl’s draw saw a reduced field from the previous 2 events and meant a straight combined final was run. It was evident that the girls who were there deserved to take the top placing’s, showing that consistent performances throughout the series lead to good results and valuable competition experience in light of competing at the upcoming national level events over the 2015/2016 season. All girls in attendance – Grace Pevats WGHS (U14’s), Kate Moyle KKHS (U14’s), Billie Scott WGHS (U16’s) and Emily Brunker WGHS (U18’s) showed they were capable and deserved standouts of the girls junior surfing scene in Northland.

U14 boys was exciting to watch with Max Brunker showing experience and style on the peeling walls dominating his heat and final, Oscar Harper also got a chance to show off his skills linking turns and high speed snaps with flair. Wildcard, Thomas Robinson was charging too and showed no fear attacking sections over shallow reef with confidence and style.The level was very high with all the crew enjoying excellent waves to really perform in.

In the U14 boy’s division Oscar Harper (WBHS),  Max Brunker (WBHS) and Thomas Robinson (Wildcard) showed good form on the shallow reef break at Pines. Harper took the chance to show off his skills linking turns and high speed snaps with flair. Wildcard, Robinson showed no fear attacking sections over shallow reef with confidence and style once again showing he is going to be a force to contend with in the future. In the final it was Brunker with his stylish backhand attack that dominated the heat and took the win with a 9 point ride in the final demonstrating his class and experience.

In the larger U16 boy’s division Tom Norton (Bream Bay College), Joseph Critchfield (Rodney College) and Kalani Hansen (Kaitaia College) were all early round stand out’s with local boy Hansen in particular showing his experience over the shallow reef break and a willingness to attack any section that came his way. However it was Critchfield in the dying minutes of the final that snagged a set wave and proceeded to unleash a series of smooth backhand carves finishing with a strong closeout maneuver on the shallow inside section to take the win.

In the U18 boy’s division Kohl Mase (Pompallier College), Matt Jensen (Bream Bay College) and Callum Robertson-Barnes (Kerikeri College) impressed in the early rounds however it was local boy Sergio Hansen (Kaitaia College)who found his form in the final and used his local knowledge of the break in deteriorating wind affected conditions to take the win.
NSSS3 Full Results:

U14 Girls
1st – Grace Pevats (WGHS), 2nd – Kate Moyle (Kerikeri High School)             

U14 Boys
1st – Max Brunker (WBHS), 2nd – Oscar Harper (WBHS), 3rd – Jack Bennett (Rodney College), 4th – Bassy Waldron (Rodney College)       

U16 Girls
1st – Billie Scott (WGHS)                 

U16 Boys
1st – Joseph Critchfield (Rodney College), 2nd – Luca Mase  (Pompallier Catholic College), 3rd – Kalani Hansen (Kaitaia College), 4th – Tom Norton (Bream Bay College)

 U18 Boys
1st – Sergio Hansen (Kaitaia College), 2nd – Kohl Mase (Pompallier Catholic College), 3rd – Sam Nemeroff (Kaitaia College), 4th – Callum Robertson-Barnes (Kerikeri High School)

With the final event of the series completed, overall ratings were also cemented in place. The results from all 3 series events were tallied and the winners presented with custom handmade trophies sponsored by local ‘surf’ businesses from the Northland region. A big thank you to Mark Vercoe for the design and crafting of the trophies and the Tech Department from Whangarei Boys High for the logo imprint on these awesome pieces of art.
Overall Series Winners 

Surfline Custom Surfboards U14 Girls Series Winner – Grace Pevats (WGHS)

Tribal Surfboards U14 Boys Series Winner – Max Brunker (WBHS)

Y.H..P.J Accountants U16 Girls Series Winner – Billie Scott (WGHS)

Megasurf U16 Boys Series Winner – Tom Norton (Bream Bay College)

The Surflab U18 Girls Series Winner – Emily Brunker (WGHS)

Tutukaka Surf U18 Boys Series Winner – Matt Jensen (Bream Bay College)

With the regional series now wrapped up the Northland Selectors will name 12 person team with 1 travelling reserve to compete at the 2015 National Scholastic Championships – 28 Sept – 2 Oct in Gisborne. The team will undertake a series of training camps in their preparation to head south and compete against the top junior surfers from throughout NZ.
The Mangawhai Focus is the only 'Mangawhai' community Newspaper and is the paper of choice within the local area.

For more information on distribution and circulation please 
click here

Latest Issue



Contact Us





facebook   twitter


Sales: 09 4320285
  021 454814
Editor: 09 4380904
  021 678358